To go Bust or not to go Bust

 You’d think this would be an easy decision with the social stigma of Barbie doll like bodies out there and everyone busting out at the seams.

I’ve been small breasted all my life, and admittedly, there were times I thought of breast augmentation.  Now that I’m educated in what that actually entails, I cannot believe millions of women voluntarily go through this – some, even 4 times, increasing breast size for boyfriends or their whatever their reasons (the gal I once knew did it 4 times for a boyfriend – she looked like a very short version of Jessica Rabbit by the time she was done).

The problem is, there is substantial risk involved to one’s health.  And these things actually fail/leak within 10 years, requiring additional surgeries…but that’s the least of it.

FDA has recently approved 2 silicone brands (the saline are even less desirable), but it is still under scrutiny and is now being tied to another form of cancer..Anaplastic Large Cell Lymphoma (see the FDA article), and this ALCL study.  The  chance of this happening though is reportedly 3 in 100 million..so not a huge risk… the larger risk is infection, breakage, leakage, etc.  Also, these things don’t last forever.. there is a 40-70% chance it will need to be replaced in 7-10 years!

So, is it really worth it?

Logic tells me no, but wanting to look ‘normal’ is there too… on the other hand, why further risk your health – going through this once is quite enough thank you…. on the other hand, the risk percentage is very low (for at least ALCL)…but there are other known risks that can complicate one’s health.

It would be nice to have it ‘all’ to have an easy implant without any risks of complications….actually, it would be nicer if this evil didn’t happen all together…but it is reality.

So the pragmatic part of me is not liking the options one bit.

Oh, and as I write this, I just received word from my MRI that I remain clean from a Brain Tumor I had surgery and radiation for in 2001.  Thank goodness!!! whew!  Time for celebration!

What are your thoughts?

BTW, if you wish to support the fight for Breast Cancer with just being online, please visit the breastcancer.org website, supported by Stonyfield Organic Yogurt.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan
    Sep 17, 2011 @ 13:05:07

    Thinking about you as you make this journey.

    Reply

  2. msfsw
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 11:55:35

    Mark, my husband feels the exact same way. And my first priority is to heal so I can get back to life.

    With tears in my eyes at the moment, I thank you for bringing me truth, honesty and love.

    Reply

  3. Mark
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 00:23:44

    NO! It’s not worth it!
    The LOVE of my life, my soul mate, does not have a “Barbie doll” figure.

    Women are NOT their breasts!

    I love and adore my wife– with or without breasts.

    Her health and companionship is more important than all other considerations.

    Just one man’s opinion,

    Mark

    Reply

  4. Janie Butcher
    Sep 15, 2011 @ 13:52:05

    Some people seem to think nothing of having surgeries to fix whatever is wrong. But if I was in your shoes, I too would wrestle with this one. Is it absolutely necessary to make the decision now?

    I imagine there is some benefit to starting reconstruction while the mastectomy is being done, but could you not return for reconstructive surgery at a later time?

    Some decisions become easier after time, and when the pressure is off. You are under a lot of stress right now, just dealing with all that has happened, and awaiting surgery. Can you decide this later?
    Big Hug
    Janie

    Reply

    • msfsw
      Sep 15, 2011 @ 15:40:23

      Yes, that is an option – they simply leave a flap for possible reconstruction at a later date. The question there is… if I ultimately choose no reconstruction, do I need to go back into surgery to remove the flap? Does it invite infection? Guess that’s a great question for the doctors!

      Thanks Janie, for bringing me a step closer to the decision and exploring the options.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

