Life is a Fishbone

Isn’t that so true?

My wonderful identical twin sister went for the BRCA testing for us (I assume we are truly identical in genetic makeup..just external factors and life experiences re-shape predispositions).  I am thrilled to tell you that it came back negative.   What a wonderful word…negative.  It used to hold a, well, ‘negative’ meaning…these days, it is the best word you can hear on this journey.

That said, I am still acutely aware that I went from no cancer this time last year to where I am now.  My mother had breast cancer.  I have dense breasts, and there are other factors that increase the odds… like once you have had DCIS (breast cancer), the odds increase that you will have it again – not because it migrated, but as a primary.

I am scheduled to have a discussion with the Medical Oncologist at Duke regarding this genetic ‘stuff’ and my odds.  A mastectomy will only help the breast that already has cancer…and give me a 98-99% chance that is will not reoccur in that breast.  It does nothing for the other ‘innocent’ breast (at least it looks innocent…but I thought that of the one that betrayed me too).

Which brings me to a slight digression – I saw a wonderful saying on a t-shirt: “Hell yes these are fake, my real ones tried to kill me!”  If you want a few giggles, link to the Mind/Body > Enter Laughing > Bloopers…..

So, what does this mean? Well, based on our discussions, I have a new fishbone diagram of action.  And dear friends, you’ll have to indulge me… like a cliff hanger from a TV series, you’ll have to ‘tune in’ in early October to see where all this leads me, because quite honestly, I don’t even know myself.

I do know a few things:

  1. I am so tired of every waking minute centered around breast cancer
  2. I am so thankful for all my dear friends and family – what would I do without you?  I love you all.
  3. Life is short – years go by too fast.  Be happy, be peaceful, be loving – to yourself, to others.
1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. dee
    Sep 23, 2011 @ 00:51:24

    You say it best. Keep talking. I love you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

