Aftermath

That’s me with all 5 drain containers all streaming down from my breasts.  Two removed today (1 from each side).

Today the reconstruction surgeon was pleased with progress – the top of one drain is poking me in the upper breast by the underarm and periodically causing a little pain, but after the 220cc of blood in my breast and almost fainting with pain the other night, this is totally manageable.

Tomorrow we head home and return on Wednesday to see the Oncology Surgeon.  Healing is beginning and the bi-lateral mastectomy journey has passed a milestone.

As we left the hotel to go to the surgeon’s office, the sun shined and filtered into my being, and I breathed in the warmth of the day.  After leaving the doctor’s office, a few tears of relief that this part of the journey is behind me and I will only get stronger – and kayaking and mountain biking  soon.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kay Wade
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 02:03:02

    Wow, that is one bitchin’ picture. That’s all I have to say for now.

    Reply

  2. Helene Jeanette
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 00:42:52

    Wow, you’ve got almost as much stuff hanging from you as when I gear up for a scuba dive! The good news is, it’s all very temporary and you’re now healing. Time to be joyful! Mwaaaaaaaaaaaaah!

    Reply

  3. Cyndie
    Oct 13, 2011 @ 22:52:45

    Amen~~~

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

