Rocking…

It is autumn here in western N.C…. absolutely gorgeous.  A primo time to be on a mountain bike or kayaking, and where am I?  In a rocking chair with tubes and drains sticking out of me.  “We don’t always get what we want”.

My life since we’ve been released post-surgery is comprised of getting over the effects of all the narcotics and drugs administered that plays havoc with your mind and body.  Twice a day, my drainage tubes are ‘milked’, emptied and measured.  I have to sleep propped up on my back – so sleep is an hour on and off. My skin feels tight in my chest, the drainage lines pull and poke to a low level of pain constantly, and my digestive system is running amok from antibiotics.  And I tell myself, this too will pass.  As my wonderful husband reminds me, I’m healing and had cancer.

I am SO looking forward to Wednesday when the drains can be removed (they snip the stitches and then pull the tube out…creepy but not painful).

I am SO looking forward to moving around without the loops of tubes and exhaustion. But I cannot even do any activity other than walking until another post-op on the 25th when I’ll be given exercises – until then, I am not to raise my arms above my head..everything is done with elbows down, so I suspect the shoulder will take a lot of P/T at some point… but I’ve been there before and I don’t back down from working past the pain of breaking up scar tissue – after all, it is the rest of your life, isn’t it….and that is pretty darn good and worth working for.

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. sfox11561
    Oct 16, 2011 @ 12:44:09

    “And I tell myself, this too will pass. As my wonderful husband reminds me, I’m healing and had cancer.

    I like that the cancer is in the past and the healing is the present you live now.
    I like that your husband has been and is “wonderful.”
    I like that you surely move forward to doing the things you love.
    And I like that you can pause long enough from those things to appreciate all you are and have.

    Blessed Be.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

