Dancing in the Rain

Anyone who has emailed me has seen the line at the bottom of my note which reads ‘It’s not about waiting for the storm to pass, its learning how to dance in the rain’.

Coincidentally, I found another breast cancer sur-thrivor who is an artist and created a painting (shown on the image to the left) with that same saying which expresses it beautifully.  Kudos to Amy Kalisher of Connecticut.  One of the most beautiful, strong, courageous and active women I have encountered on this journey.

So life is getting better, but still scary.  I’ve been communicating with a surgical oncologist at MD Anderson who feels they should have taken more skin to get to the close margin…and that frightens me a bit…but that is in contrast to my surgeon who felt they didn’t have a clear enough picture of where to take more skin – hence, the option of rads or Tamoxifen.  Based on studies, my risk of recurrence is increased from 1-2% up to 5-10% because of the unclean margin.  Tamoxifen should lower that risk about 50%… so down to 2.5-5%.

It is still unnerving and I’m learning how to dance in the rain of uncertainty.  But I know one thing for certain – I am regaining my range of motion with exercise and reclaiming my life.  We went mountain bike riding for two glorious days and will be heading to Charleston for kayaking for another 2-3 days.  There’s nothing like getting back on the saddle.  Yes, the first time you realize how much strength surgery has sapped from you – and you smile and say, but I’m here….

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Helene Jeanette
    Nov 08, 2011 @ 13:34:21

    Welcome back love. May it be an endless, glorious dance and there’s nothing wrong with the sun being out while it rains! Enjoy it all with great joy! You are an incredible woman!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

