Active Healing

It’s been weeks now…and somedays my back felt a little better … somedays worse.  I adapted a loving, slow approach to helping my body heal (in my case, allowing my hip to rotate back in position) by gentle yoga stretches lasting no more than 5 minutes for a few poses, about 4 times a day.

After experiencing some success, I tried attending a yoga/pilates class. Ooops.. way too aggressive…. back to pain for a couple of days..and when I talk pain, it literally hurt whenever I was in a seated position – especially in the Subaru bucket seat.

So gradually, with a little Chi Kong exercise and a little yoga, my back is healing.  Today I saw the chiropractor and got another adjustment.  I found my hip flexors very very tight and will add some gentle stretches there.

I’m encouraged!  I truly believe I will be rolling my kayak again in no time, pain-free.

PS – with any activity and chiropractor work, make sure you hydrate more often.  Again, thank you to everyone who responded – both here and outside the blog.  I’m so thankful I have your support and caring.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Helene Jeanette
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 00:15:57

    I’m so glad you’re finding the road gentle and yes, you will be doing those rolls again soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

