TransVaginal UltraSound

Ok,  I came across this and thought it was too funny not to use – A Vaginal wedding gown!  So this is my segway into the world of managing life after breast cancer.  With Tamoxifen, one of the nasty side effects could be uterine cancer (nice, eh? reduce one/create a new one?)  Anyway, as anyone who has ever watched the TV series “Scrubs” knows…Elliott referred to a women’s nether regions as a Virgingo, unwilling to say the word… so thats what I’ll use – because its sorta fun.

In order to manage or at least get a ‘heads up’ on something that could be very bad (uterine cancer), it is important to get a baseline and monitor.   That said, I have an appointment later this month for my first (probably have this annually for the next 5 years).  What is a transvaginal ultrasound you ask?  And is it like ‘transgender’ or ‘transvestite’ or ‘transgression’?… well, no…. but it does have to do with sexual parts since the ultrasound probes the wall of the uterus.

During a transvaginal ultrasound, a tubular probe is inserted into the vaginal canal. The probe is completely covered by a lubricated condom. The probe can be rotated slightly to obtain close contact images of the uterus and ovaries.

The uterus and ovaries may be evaluated to examine abnormal pelvic growths and to determine the source of painful cramps or other pain in the pelvic area, unexplained vaginal bleeding or lack of menstrual flow.  In my case, I already have a benchmark of the thickness of the wall of my uterus, so if the worst occurs over time, they will see a thickening of the uterus tissue wall and probably a hysterectomy will ensue.

I’m so done with hospitals and procedures, but just like getting breast cancer wasn’t a choice – other illnesses are not as well….and being on top of the game will give me the best odds to take care of it before it kills me (bluntly put) should it happen.

To dull the memory of this test in my mind, I’ll go to an evening kayak pool session to have fun….not that it will be painful, but I view it as feeling like an enema in the virgingo…. maybe a space alien sorta thing, ya know?  Something I’d like to forget about after the event – at least for 364 more days……

 

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. B
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 20:03:01

    I’ve had several and it’s not bad at all……even kind of interesting because you can see the screen and see what they’re looking at!

    Reply

  2. sfox11561
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 16:28:15

    Love the gown! Well, it sounds invasive but not painful. Go have fun!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

