Time to take up Knitting?

Called the ob-gyn office to determine just how thick is my uterine lining…. a whopping 16mm thick!  So, surgical biopsy to determine cancer, and then, most likely another medical procedure requiring hospitalization again – either a hysterectomy or D&C… more holes and cuts on my poor little body, and more recovery time….less water time…. 2012 is not shaping up as I had hoped.

I’ve done a little research and there are many options for the hysterectomy procedure…the worst and most debilitating being the abdominal incision… vaginal hysterectomy, laproscopy hysterectomy (I probably am not a candidate for either), and the Da Vinci robotics technique… 5 1/2″ incisions….

I don’t expect to like the endomentrial biopsy either – altho no visible scars, cramping and pain is a big issue.  And with my breast reconstruction, risk of infection increases so an antibiotic is required.

Is it really time to give it up? Give up kayaking and interests? My mind and my body are in conflict…. but my mind is stubborn, if not obstinate, and shouts ‘no!’.  I may never have the time to be as good as I’d like, but I should have the time to enjoy the sport after healing… and that is a goal.

I’m terribly unhappy that this has presented itself…. it seems I no sooner recover from one thing, then its on to the next…. Is this what aging is all about?  Certainly not very graceful!

So its time to make peace with what is and enjoy what is and leave behind the rest.  Sometimes more easily said than done.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. msfsw
    Feb 16, 2012 @ 18:08:27

    Thank you for the words of wisdom. Some ob-gyn docs are suggesting it may just be polyps, but it unknown at this point. We shall see…

    Reply

  2. Leni Jeanette
    Feb 15, 2012 @ 14:44:12

    The msfw I know doesn’t even knit her brows! She’s a passionate, joyous lover of life. She moves with grace and intent and purpose. This will not be all of even 2012. It will be a blip during which time you will heal, meditate, stretch, and grow in new directions. And then you will get back in the kyayk, back on the bike, and laugh with the love of your life always beside you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

