A New Medical Oncologist

YES!!! Today I visited a new Medical Oncologist connected with Roper Hospital in Charleston, S.C.  He attended Duke Medical and interned there 25 years ago, so high credentials.

Tired of the production line of Duke myself, I had decided to solicit another opinion of my medical care as well as establish with a physician more accessible.

After going through my history and check up, we discussed why I was on Tamoxifen altogether, which was my initial question.  You see, Tamoxifen or an Aramatase Inhibitor is prescribed when there is a risk of invasive breast cancer.

I was diagnosed with DCIS – that is non-invasive cancer, still within the ducts.  Since it was all removed and as he described, I have about 1% of breast tissue remaining, there is a 1% chance of recurrence.  A far cry from the choice of radiation or Tamoxifen (or do nothing and wait) choice Duke presented.  He confirmed that radiation would have been totally unnecessary and overkill.  We discussed the risk of medication (thrombosis, stroke, cataracts, uterine cancer) to the benefit (now, none) and the conclusion was pretty clear.

So…instead of taking this vile drug for the next 4.5 years, I’m so over it!    He did however have high praise for the work of the reconstruction surgeon  😉

I almost cried.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Leni Jeanette
    Mar 18, 2012 @ 23:23:58

    Wish I could give you a BIG hug with love and gratitude!!!

    Reply

  2. Judy roy
    Mar 17, 2012 @ 05:05:47

    Great! I didn’t understand why you were on it with DCIS either.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

