Adjusting for Lympedema Risk

After lymph nodes have been removed (whether 3 for biopsy or more) and/or radiation, the lymphatic drainage on that side of the body can be impacted, resulting in lympedema.

I love my sports, and now, 9 months after being diagnosed and being healthy enough to be active once again, adjustments need to be made!

Today, with only white thread and a sewing needle, I clipped the left short sleeve of my Kokatat paddling jacket and threaded a bungee which I can adjust to minimize water entry and the risk of arm constraint triggering Lympedema.

I’m not pleased with only having white thread available, but functionally, it will be outstanding… and someday soon when I can buy black/gray thread,  I will replace the white thread  😉  But, we’re surfing tomorrow and this is very needed and welcome with 80-90 degree temps here in Charleston!

You can’t stop doing the things you love – adapt, adjust & improvise!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Leni Jeanette
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 22:47:24

    That’s my sister!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

